Going gluten free.

I used to be an omnivore always on the hunt for food. I’d eat anything that was put in front of me. Now I’m having to change my lifestyle to suit the dietary needs of my guts.

It started around December time. I would have cooked for myself again and again I would have these pains in my intestinal tract and my bowel would have decided that it’s time for a exodus. Which included giving me the same symptoms as food poisoning. Each time I had the food poisoning symptoms it was something different I had eaten. From chicken dinners to pasta to takeaways even sandwiches. Something in this food is causing me a lot of pain and discomfort as well as emotional distress.

I’m autistic and have a fear of being ill (Emetophobia) so each time my body goes through the slightest pain I’m in panic mode. Which is probably making things worse.

So I went to the doctors and explained that I’m having these issues to see if they can give me a diagnosis and a plan of action. The doctor explained it could be one of a few things IBS, IBD, Food intolerance. So they ran a few tests firstly to rule out inflammatory bowel issues and they have come back negative yet a couple of markers were slightly raised.

Continuing to have these issues I went back again and they have ran a coealic screen which I should get the results this week. Now upon visiting the doctor the 2nd time I was given the FODMAP diet to follow but the doctor I saw didn’t explain FODMAP to me so I’ve been left in limbo trying to work out what i can and cannot eat which being autistic with very sensitive tastebuds and no sense of smell is very difficult. I am okay with spices,meat,rice,most veggies (I have cut out onions and garlic and most sprouted veg) I’m not okay with bread or any products containing wheat in any form,deli meats as they use wheat starch to stop them sticking together.

As it’s still a learning curve for me I have been struggling to get used to it and I haven’t been as diligent in checking whether meals that my family have prepared are “safe” to eat and this has thrown me into some issues at work. In a review I recently had I was basically told that I should be quizzing everyone who makes me a meal to ensure I can eat it and that I need to be more prepared when cooking for myself. On a minimum wage buying speciality ingredients for a specific diet can be costly. Gluten free food isn’t cheap and when you work 30hrs a week you’re not getting the best income to be able to afford it.

** was given a final warning about my attendance. Which is pretty upsetting seeing as there’s an underlying issue that I need sorted **

I’d greatly appreciate any recipes or tips as I’m just starting out living gluten free.

Till next time

Nss.

Leave a comment